A tour of the Cathedral of Santiago de Compostela: the cathedral museum (6th part)

After visiting the chapels of the main nave and the transept, we leave the Cathedral through the facade of the Obradoiro and walk towards the cathedral museum.

sala_museoInside this first floor we will be able to contemplate the Romanesque pieces of the workshop of Master Mateo: capitals and sculptures of amazing solemnity.

Just a few steps further on, we will reach another small room where the pieces of the old stone choir built in the second third of the 13th century are exhibited.

On the floor, a piece of ancient medieval roadway is exposed. Another piece to highlight is the Caligula’s milestone, dated 40 AD.

Returning to the entrance of the museum, in the next room on the right wall is the reconstruction of the rose window from the workshop of Master Mateo (around 1200) that came from the western façade of the Cathedral that closed the Portico de la Gloria. On the other walls, remains of pieces from the primitive façade of Paradise, today called the Acibechería. Between these we see some marble helicoidal columns from the 12th century. Next to them, two casts of the founding capitals of the Cathedral, the originals of which are in the Chapel of the Savior, in the ambulatory of the Cathedral.

Reconstrucción del rosetón de la fachada del Obradoiro
Leaving these three rooms we will go up some stairs that lead to the second floor, where there are other rooms with sculptures from different periods. In the first room, on the left, there is a 14th century granite relief representing the entry of Jesus into Jerusalem. Next to it, a seated sculpture of the Apostle made in polychrome granite in the 13th century. In the middle of this wall we see a relief of the Adoration of the Magi that belonged to the chapel of Doña Leonor (14th century), carved in granite and polychrome. In front, two pieces of the Annunciation, made in polychrome limestone (15th century).

adoracion-magos
In the next room there is a series of sculptures by Gregorio Español and Juan Dávila. Three reliefs in wood directly related to the city of Santiago stand out from the rest of the room. The first of them represents the transfer of the bells from the Cathedral of Santiago to the city, on the shoulders of the Moors, an event that occurred in 1236. The other relief represents a group of pilgrims full of joy on Monte do Gozo, the first point of the Camino de Santiago from where the towers of the Cathedral can be seen. The third relief represents a passage of the transfer of the body of the Apostle from Padrón to Santiago on an ox cart.

Sala que alberga el Codex Calixtino

In the center of the room, an Immaculate Conception from the school of Mateo de Prado.

In the third room are, protected by glass cases, a series of manuscripts and drawings of the facade of the Obradoiro and the Clock Tower.

After leaving these three rooms, we can go up some stairs that take us directly to the cloister of the Cathedral and the library. But we will talk about these places on another occasion not too far away.

We remind you that you can contact us at any time for more information about our tours.

Leave a Comment

Shopping Cart
Scroll to Top